Active Matter Release Date and Platforms - PC, PS5, Xbox

Steam, the official site, PlayStation and Xbox all list Sep 15, 2026 for Active Matter. Per-platform launch facts, the earlier PC build and player caps.

Last Updated: 2026-09-29

Active Matter Release Date and Platforms: PC, PS5, Xbox Series

Active Matter released on September 15, 2026 on Steam, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. That is the date on the Steam store page, the official site, the Xbox storefront (printed there as 9/15/2026) and the launch announcement. The confusing dates people find online are almost always one of two other things: the early PC-only build from September 9, 2025, or per-platform unlock times on launch day.

What each storefront lists

Store Release date shown Developer / publisher Player cap published Cross-platform notes
Steam Sep 15, 2026 Matter Team / Gaijin Network Ltd Not stated on the store page PC queue; progression shared with the Gaijin.Net PC build
Xbox Series X|S 9/15/2026 Team Matter / Gaijin Distribution Kft Online multiplayer 2-16, online co-op 2-3 Xbox cross-platform multiplayer and co-op listed, plus cloud saves and Play Anywhere
PlayStation 5 Sep 15, 2026 (per the official site) Not verified from the PlayStation Store listing Not verified One of the three crossplay queue groups
Gaijin Store (PC) 09.09.2025 early version, still sold Matter Team / Gaijin Entertainment Not stated Same account as Steam when linked

Gas-masked operator holding a launcher beside a white van
Gas-masked operator holding a launcher beside a white van

Every storefront date was checked on September 29, 2026. If a page you are reading still shows September 14, it was written before the launch-day graphic went up or it is quoting an unlock time in a different timezone, not a different release.

The PlayStation Store listing for Active Matter could not be read directly during verification because the store front served a region-blocked page. The PS5 date and its place in the crossplay groups come from the official site and the developer Q&A instead. Treat the PS5 row as official-site-sourced rather than store-verified.

The PlayStation Store listing for Active Matter could not be read directly during verification because the store front served a region-blocked page. The PS5 date and its place in the crossplay groups come from the official site and the developer Q&A instead. Treat the PS5 row as official-site-sourced rather than store-verified.

The two other dates that get mistaken for the release date

September 9, 2025 - the early PC version. Gaijin Entertainment's game page lists this as the early version date, sold through the Gaijin Store. It is a real, playable build and it predates the full release by a year. If you are reading a review or a guide from 2025, it describes this build, not the game that launched in September 2026.

September 15, 2026 unlock times. The developers published a launch times graphic on September 14, and in the September 7 Q&A they answered the exact-time question with: "Due to how each platform operates, exact launch times may vary." Stores on different platforms commonly open their servers on their own schedule, so a screenshot taken at 00:30 in one timezone can look like a different launch day entirely.

Official source: Developer Q&A, September 7, 2026 answers both the launch-time question and the cross-platform question. The November 23 linking deadline and the Premium-to-Deluxe conversion come from the official FAQ.

If you bought the early PC version

This is the one deadline that matters for anyone who was in before launch. All players who bought the early version through the Gaijin Store receive free access to the Steam edition, but the accounts must be linked by November 23, 2026. After linking, progress transfers to Steam and you can keep playing on PC through either the Gaijin.Net launcher or Steam with shared progress.

Two details from the same FAQ are worth knowing before you click anything. If you hold the Premium Edition, it was upgraded and renamed to the Deluxe Edition at release, and every existing Premium owner receives the upgrade automatically and for free. And if you perform a self-wipe, content returns to your stash with one exception: crystallised Active Matter, which is Prime, does not come back.

If you are reading this after November 23, 2026, the free Steam conversion route the developers described is no longer the documented path. Check the official site news before assuming it still works.

If you are reading this after November 23, 2026, the free Steam conversion route the developers described is no longer the documented path. Check the official site news before assuming it still works.

What changed on launch day itself

If you are deciding whether a pre-launch guide still applies, read the September 15 launch announcement. Four things changed on the day:

  • A new Harmonization Cycle began, with new rewards. Merits were introduced as a currency earned through the cycle and exchangeable for prizes, including items from previous cycles.
  • Raid loot was expanded, with legendary weapons now findable across the Multiverse.
  • Premium Edition was upgraded and renamed Deluxe Edition, and every existing Premium owner receives the upgrade automatically and for free.
  • Shelter and inventory management were streamlined so a base can be organised faster between raids.

The developers also confirmed in the September 7 Q&A that there is no global wipe at release, and that all rewards from previous Harmonization Cycles remain obtainable after September 15.

Official source: Active Matter Is Now Available On PC, PlayStation 5, And Xbox Series X|S, September 15, 2026.

Server regions

One of the most common pre-launch questions was whether South America, Asia or Oceania servers would exist on day one. The answer was that the team is "generally optimizing as well as expanding server locations to enhance your experience ... wherever you are in the world." That is a statement of intent, not a shipped server list. If ping from your region is a problem, check the in-game region options after installing rather than trusting a pre-launch claim.

Xbox specifics that differ from the PC build

The Xbox store page is the most detailed public platform listing, and a few of its entries have no PC equivalent. Everything in the list below comes from the Xbox storefront page, which also confirms the 9/15/2026 release date and the 2-16 player cap:

  • Xbox Play Anywhere is listed, meaning one purchase covers the Xbox console and the Windows PC version sold through the Microsoft Store. It does not cover Steam.
  • Xbox cloud saves are listed. Console saves and Steam saves are not the same save, which follows from the progression rules below.
  • Optimized for Xbox Series X|S, with 4K Ultra HD, HDR10 and 60 fps+ all listed as capabilities.
  • Online multiplayer 2-16 and online co-op 2-3 are the only concrete player caps the developers have published anywhere.

For the Steam side, the store page does not publish a player cap at all. Anyone quoting one for PC is guessing.

Progression does not travel between console and PC

This is the single most misunderstood point about the platform list, so it gets its own page: crossplay and cross-progression. The short version is that you can queue with console players, but your saved progress does not follow you between PC and console. Shared progression exists only between the Steam and Gaijin.Net versions on PC.

Platform choice in short

If you want Buy on Because
Cheapest way in Steam, Standard at $29.99 Lowest listed entry price of the four editions
Play with console friends in the same match Any platform, with the right queue Crossplay is on at launch across all three groups
Keep one save across launchers Steam plus Gaijin Store PC That is the only shared-progression pair
Console convenience and cloud saves Xbox Series X|S Play Anywhere and cloud saves are listed there

FAQ

What is the actual release date of Active Matter?

September 15, 2026, on Steam, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. The early PC-only version in the Gaijin Store dates to September 9, 2025.

Is Active Matter on PS5?

Yes. The official site lists PlayStation 5 alongside PC and Xbox Series X|S at launch. The PlayStation Store listing itself could not be read directly during verification because of region blocking.

Is Active Matter on Xbox?

Yes, Xbox Series X|S, published by Gaijin Distribution Kft and developed by Team Matter. The store page lists Xbox Play Anywhere and Xbox cloud saves.

Can I play with my friends on a different console?

Yes, cross-platform multiplayer is on at launch. The matchmaking details, including the three separate queues, are covered in the crossplay page.

Is there a demo?

There was an Xbox Series demo, announced on August 26, 2026, available from the Microsoft Store through June 30. Check the Microsoft Store for its current status rather than assuming the window is still open.

More Active Matter Guides

Active Matter Extraction Loop - Zones and Exit Rules

How an Active Matter raid runs: take a contract, harvest Active Matter, then extract before the zone collapses and takes your gear with it.

Active Matter First Raid Guide - Loadout, Looting, Extract

Your first Active Matter raid in one page: what to bring, why to start in PvE, how looting and the Replicator work, and the mistakes that cost gear.

Active Matter Loadout Guide - Weapons and Replicator

How Active Matter loadouts work: the starter weapon kit, backpack and pouch volumes, armour plates, and how Replicator and Refiner queues cost you time.

Active Matter Maps and Locations - Dalniy Island Raids

Every Active Matter raid zone on Dalniy Island - Scrapyard, Downtown, Cargo Port and Military Base - with variants, rotation rules and patch changes.

Active Matter Monolith and Harmonization Cycle Guide

How Active Matter progression works past the first raid - the Monolith access ladder, Merits, the Harmonization Cycle reset and exactly what survives a wipe.

Active Matter Not Launching, Crashing or Black Screen

Active Matter stuck on a black screen, crashing with FATAL ERROR, or not launching at all. Ordered fixes from verifying files to reporting the bug to Gaijin.

Active Matter Patch Notes - Every 0.4.x Update Since Launch

Every Active Matter patch note from full launch to September 29, 2026 - 0.4.0.115 through 0.4.0.156, with dates and the older advice each one breaks.

Active Matter Player Count - Steam Charts as of Sep 2026

Active Matter peaked at 9,626 concurrent Steam players on Sep 27, 2026. Live count, launch-week average and what the base means for matchmaking.